Back to News


Date: 13 Sep 2018 Author Type: Press Release
Author: Jaguar South Africa
Source: Jaguar South Africa
  • First race confirmed to take place on 15 December 2018 in Ad Diriyah, Saudi Arabia
  • Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY will take place at 10 Formula E rounds from the 2018-19 season onwards
  • First official introduction test set to take place 24 – 27 September at Silverstone, UK
Pretoria, 12 September 2018 –Jaguar Racing has unveiled the full race calendar for the first season of the Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY Championship. Up to twenty identical Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY racecars will line up on the grid on Saturday 15 December in Ad Diriyah, Saudi Arabia, for the first round of the new global electric production car racing series.

The Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY race will take place before the main Formula E race on the same city circuits, throughout the 2018-19 season and beyond. The series, a world first, offers teams the chance to showcase driving talent and electric performance in some of the world’s most exciting cities, and will take place over 10 rounds of FIA Formula E Season Five.

Marion Barnaby, Championship Manager, Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY, said:
“Seeing Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY race cars line up on the grid in December will be a proud and historic moment for Jaguar, and spectators can expect plenty of action from the races. As we travel to some of the world’s most exciting cities we’ll be bringing a new kind of electric street racing to the public and inspiring the next generation of electric vehicle owners.”

Later this month, teams will travel to the iconic Silverstone circuit to take delivery of their Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY racecars and take part in the first of the official pre-season tests. The full race calendar is as follows, subject to approval by the FIA World Motorsport Council and track homologation:
Round          City                      Country                Date
    1              Ad Diriyah             Saudi Arabia         15 December 2018
    2              Mexico City            Mexico                16 February 2019
    3              Hong Kong            Hong Kong           10 March 2019
    4              Sanya                   China                   23 March 2019
    5              Rome                    Italy                    13 April 2019
    6              Paris                     France                 27 April 2019
    7              Monaco                 Monaco                11 May 2019
    8              Berlin                    Germany              25 May 2019
    9              New York City        USA                     13 July 2019
    10            New York City        USA                     14 July 2019
The Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY race will be 25 minutes plus one lap. This will follow practice and qualifying sessions in the build up to each race. Jaguar plans for each race to feature a VIP entrant, with famous faces from the world of motorsport and beyond set to take part. Jaguar recently announced that the prize fund for the series is in excess of £500,000 (R9.8-million) per season.

Sabelt has also been confirmed as technical partner providing seats, seatbelts, steering wheels and head protection nets.

Massimiliano Marsiaj, Sabelt Deputy Chairman & Business Development said:
“We are really proud to work with Jaguar. I think we have laid the foundation for a new and lasting collaboration. Thanks to the work of our two technical departments, we have already developed together a new racing seat. Electric cars are the future and we always want to progress with the times.”
Close Window/
Reset Search Select a vehicle type, make or model, then click Apply to refine your results.